A Pawn can capture anytime

by Bruce Johnson

Can the first move of a pawn be a diagonal capture or does it need move forward one or two spaces before capturing?
--------------------------------------
Admin
Hi Bruce,
a pawn can capture anytime no matter if it sits still on its original square or not.

See position below where Black will promote a pawn into a queen. For that a black pawn must reach the last rank. To achieve this Black will sacrifice his g-pawn to free the way for his e-pawn.

Black moves
pawn capturehow a pawn captures
Black plays 1...g3 and attacks the white f-pawn on its original square. The white f-pawn has never moved before.

pawn capturehow a pawn captures
The f-pawn will capture 2.fxg (or the black pawn will move ahead and promote) and after that Black can move his e-pawn forward playing 2...e3. The white king cannot catch the black e-pawn anymore.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate   Advertise  Google   SiteMap

© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com
Get Chess Courses by Grandmaster Igor Smirnov

Build Your Database

SUPERCHARGE YOUR CHESS!