Draw in King vs Pawn Endgame?

by Emir S
(Austria)

Hello!

As I was watching one of Ben Finegold's lectures YouTube, i was surprised when he said that in the following position (white to move) it would be a blunder to play f4, because it would lead to a draw:

White; Kg4, f2
Black; Ke7
White moves
draw
Is that true? I just could not figure out a way for black to defend...

Best regards

-------------------
Admin

Hi Emir,
yes, this is perfectly right. 1.f4? would lead to a draw because the game ends in a stalemate (draw).

Black moves: after 1.f4? (see below) Black plays Kf6! and White lost the opposition which means he can't push the pawn through as a stalemate is the logical result.
draw
- Try to keep a draw as Black and play this position above vs computer at the bottom of this page. -

White moves - Stalemate or Pawn Loss
draw
White must move now and he has only 1.Kf6, after that Black cannot make a legal move, so the game is a draw.

Read this: Pawn and King Endgame explained

Black moves and keeps a Draw



Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate   Google   SiteMap

© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com