King versus King and Knight - Draw

by Dabney
(Colorado USA)

I am playing a game and have ONLY my king remaining.

My opponent has ONLY his king and one knight. We are both evenly matched and mid ranked players.

I have repeatedly asked for a DRAW because my opponent, in my opinion , CANNOT win the game so long as I continue to stay near the board center.

Am I correct!

-----------------------------
Admin
Hi Dabney,
you are right.

King and Knight cannot win against King. This is always a draw, no matter how you play this endgame.

If your opponent continues to play on then you can claim a draw after fifty moves!

Fifty-Move Rule

"The fifty-move rule in chess states that a player can claim a draw if no capture has been made and no pawn has been moved in the last fifty moves (for this purpose a "move" consists of a player completing their turn followed by the opponent completing their turn). The purpose of this rule is to prevent a player with no chance of winning from obstinately continuing to play indefinitely ... or seeking to win by tiring the opponent."
Read more about Fifty Move Rule at Wikipedia

Just move your king back and forth and count to fifty. If you make a move then this is called a half-move. If your opponent makes his half-move after this then this is called a move.

So two half-moves make one move. This means you need 100 half-moves or fifty moves. Got it?

Threefold Repetition Rule

If your opponent repeats a position three times then you can claim a draw also. This is called the threefold repetition rule. The repeated positions do not need to occur in succession.
Read more about Threefold Repetition Rule at Wikipedia

As soon as you are about to execute your move number 50 you claim a draw BEFORE you make this move, because it is your turn and now you have the right to claim whatever has to be claimed.

If you already made this move without claiming the draw then you have no right to claim anything because it is your opponents turn now.

This means you must wait to claim your draw until it is your next turn. In this case you can claim a draw at move 51 or more ...

If your opponent does not accept a draw then go to the arbiter and make a complaint.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate   Google   Write for Us!

© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com