Putting Self in Checkmate

by Donald Husk
(Montgomery, Tx)

Can your opponent make a move to capture one of my pieces and in doing so leaves his king open to checkmate?

Online chess games don't allow that move. U can't put urself into checkmate. But I always played if u made a move and didn't protect ur king and your king was open to be checkmated then I took the king and ended the game.

Admin
Hi Donald,

To put yourself into checkmate is technically impossible. If you give a check to the opponent's king he has to respect this and must move his king away from the check. If he can't move the king somewhere else to get away from the check or can't capture the check-giving piece, then it is a checkmate.

If the king is in check it is not allowed to move another piece but the king only. To move another piece would be against the rules.
You are not allowed to capture the king either. A king can't be captured. You just give checks to a king and when he can't get away from the check, the game is over and that's it.

Comments for Putting Self in Checkmate

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 01, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
you say the you have to move the king?
by: Anthony

A king so threatened is said to be in check. A player must get out of check, if possible, by interposing a piece between the threatening piece and the king, capturing the threatening piece, or moving the king to a square where it is no longer in check.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate   Advertise  Google   SiteMap

© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com