IS the king in check?

by Craig
(Maui)

If an opponent's pawn can not move, otherwise his king would be in check), would my king be in check from that same pawn if I moved to the pawn's adjacent attcking square, assuming the pawn could not technically attack or advance?

-------------------Admin-----------------

Hi Craig,

it does not matter if a pawn is pinned or not. You can't move your king to a square that is protected by the opponent's pawn. It is as simple as that. Don't make things complicated just follow the rules.

The rule is:

You can't move your king to a square that is protected by your opponent's pieces.

If these pieces can not move because they are pinned somehow does not matter at all.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate    Write for Us!
Search my Site  Subscribe   Google
© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com

If you like this Site - Buy Me a Coffee

Don’t miss this big opportunity! I’ve created the coupon called ‘aday’ which is 40% discount on all chess courses and packages of Grandmaster Smirnov!
These Video Courses of condensed Chess Knowledge will quickly turn a weak Player into an Expert!

Top Chess Store!

Get the Main Package

With this package you can buy the most important chess courses in a bundle simultaneously with a very big discount. Save 391 USD!

Get the MAIN Package!

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!
Beginner Package
(3 in 1)
Quick Jump Package gives you a solid foundation.
You save $50.-
(Discount!)

Get Beginners Package

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!

Most successful opening for Black