Pinned Pawn

by John S
(Portland, Oregon)

Is white's pawn pinned against its king, denying black king to capture white queen (or free to threaten black king)?


If White Queen takes Black Pawn (d6), can Black King safely take the White Queen, because her defending white pawn (e5) is immovably pinned against her king (by Black Queen)? Thanks!

------------------
Admin

Hi John,

it doesn't matter if the white pawn is pinned or not. The rule says that a king cannot capture a protected piece.

If white queen takes pawn d6 (1.Qxd6+) then the white queen would be protected by the e-pawn.

It is not allowed for the king to capture the queen. In this case just recapture with the black queen. 1.Qxd6+ QxQ 2.exQ+ and king moves.

I hope this helps.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate    Write for Us!
Search my Site  Subscribe   Google
© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com

World Chess Championship 2018 Match - Carlsen vs Caruana - Replay games!

The coupon called ‘aday’ gives you a 40% discount on all GM Igor Smirnov's Chess Courses!

Main Package by GM Smirnov
With the package, the students can buy a lot of products simultaneously with a very big discount. Indeed, the biggest discount exists on this package product. The price of the package is 1240 USD and, after the huge discount, the final price is only 849 USD. In the light of that, the students can save 391 USD, which is more than 30%.
Get the MAIN Package!

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!


Beginner Package
(3 in 1)
Quick Jump Package gives you a solid foundation.
You save $50.-
(Discount!)

Get Beginners Package

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!

Become a member at Chess.com!


Get Grandmaster Igor Smirnov's HIGH QUALITY Chess Courses!


7 Keys to Victory

Most successful opening for Black



-Top Chess Shop!-