Pinned Pawn

by John S
(Portland, Oregon)

Is white's pawn pinned against its king, denying black king to capture white queen (or free to threaten black king)?


If White Queen takes Black Pawn (d6), can Black King safely take the White Queen, because her defending white pawn (e5) is immovably pinned against her king (by Black Queen)? Thanks!

------------------
Admin

Hi John,

it doesn't matter if the white pawn is pinned or not. The rule says that a king cannot capture a protected piece.

If white queen takes pawn d6 (1.Qxd6+) then the white queen would be protected by the e-pawn.

It is not allowed for the king to capture the queen. In this case just recapture with the black queen. 1.Qxd6+ QxQ 2.exQ+ and king moves.

I hope this helps.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate    Write for Us!
Search my Site  Subscribe   Google
© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com

If you like this Site - Buy Me a Coffee

Don’t miss this big opportunity! I’ve created the coupon called ‘aday’ which is 40% discount on all chess courses and packages of Grandmaster Smirnov!
These Video Courses of condensed Chess Knowledge will quickly turn a weak Player into an Expert!

Top Chess Store!

Get the Main Package

With this package you can buy the most important chess courses in a bundle simultaneously with a very big discount. Save 391 USD!

Get the MAIN Package!

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!
Beginner Package
(3 in 1)
Quick Jump Package gives you a solid foundation.
You save $50.-
(Discount!)

Get Beginners Package

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!

Most successful opening for Black