Does the 16 move rule apply when the king and the rook are left ? -------------------------------------AdminHi, Nitin!In chess there is no rule regarding 16 moves.There is the Fifty Move Rule that states that a player can claim a draw if no capture has been made and no pawn has been moved in the last fifty moves. There is also the Threefold Repetition Move Rule (Repetition of Position) where you can claim a draw if the same position occurs three times, or will occur after the next move, with the same player to move. The repeated positions do not need to occur in succession.So if your opponent has a king and a rook only and you have a king only, then your opponent must give you a checkmate within 50 moves. If he can't do that the game will be a draw. If he repeats the same position three times then the game is a draw as well.You should write down the moves or you will not be able to prove that 50 moves have been made or that a position has been repeated three times.Test here if you can give a checkmate with king and rook only!If you can't give checkmate with king and rook because you don't know the right technique then study it here!I hope this helps.
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.
Become a member at Chess.com!
This new collection, with all of IM Givon’s courses, can help you to become a much better player. Asaf Givon collection
NECTAR Sleep: The Most Comfortable Mattress!
The best latex, memory foams, tufting and coil technologies throughout 8 hand constructed layers, to provide the best sleep money can buy! DreamCloud Luxury Hybrid Mattress
Get Electronic Chess Sets!
Get Grandmaster Level Positional Understanding!
Give me 21 Days and I'll Show You How to Become a Dramatically Better Chess Player...Guaranteed!
Get Grandmaster Igor Smirnov's HIGH QUALITY Chess Courses!
Best Electronic Chess Sets and Computers
-Top Chess Shop!-
NEW! 3D Chess Sets
Build Your Own Chess Database the cheap way.