En Passant

by Tman (Philly)
If I move a pawn forward two spaces on its first move, but this move passes a point of capture by the opponents pawn, what are my opponents options?

—-Admin———–

Hi Tman,
In this case if you move a pawn forward two squares from its original square then your opponent can capture it or he doesn’t. This is up to him. He might find a better move and leaves the pawn where it is. If a capture is favorable for him he will capture it and you might recapture it.

Example

See image (left). This is the original position. Black moves
See image (right): You (Black) have moved the e-pawn two squares forward. (e7-e5)
en passanten passant

See image (left) below: White has captured your e-pawn (dxe)
See image (right): You have recaptured the pawn with your f-pawn (fxe), but you can also recapture with the d-pawn if you like (dxe)
en passanten passant

White can also move the d-pawn to d6 instead of capturing. Or he can make a different move. See below. White moved the e-pawn to e4 and did not capture the black e-pawn.

en passant
I hope this helps.
Read more about the En Passant Rule here

chess sets Get Top Chess Sets and Computers!
chess course Get High Quality Chess Courses created by Grandmaster Smirnov!

"Give me 21 Days and I'll Show You How to Become a Dramatically Better Chess Player...Guaranteed! - Click Here!"