En Passant out of Check?

by Justin P
(Tigard, OR)

Just had an interesting situation. I thought I had a square protected by en passant, but the program would not let me complete the move. Is there a rule that you can't en passant out of check or is this a flaw in their coding?
-------------------------------------

Hi Justin,

you are perfectly right. If Black has moved the pawn from c7 to c5 then you (White) can capture it en passant.

But if the black pawn was placed at c6 before and Black played c6-c5+ then you CANNOT capture en passant because the pawn did not start moving from its original square c7.

White moves
enpassant move

In the position above Black has moved 1. ..c7-c5+ giving a check to the white king.
White can capture the c-pawn now playing 2. dxc6 which is a move en passant.

I hope this helps.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate    Write for Us!
Search my Site  Subscribe   Google
© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com
The coupon called ‘aday’ gives you a 40% discount on all GM Igor Smirnov's Chess Courses!
Main Package by GM Smirnov
With the package, the students can buy a lot of products simultaneously with a very big discount. Indeed, the biggest discount exists on this package product. The price of the package is 1240 USD and, after the huge discount, the final price is only 849 USD. In the light of that, the students can save 391 USD, which is more than 30%.
Get the MAIN Package!

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!


Beginner Package
(3 in 1)
Quick Jump Package gives you a solid foundation.
You save $50.-
(Discount!)

Get Beginners Package

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!

Become a member at Chess.com!


Get Grandmaster Igor Smirnov's HIGH QUALITY Chess Courses!


7 Keys to Victory

Most successful opening for Black



-Top Chess Shop!-