En Passant

by Tman
(Philly)

If I move a pawn forward two spaces on its first move, but this move passes a point of capture by the opponents pawn, what are my opponents options?

Admin

Hi Tman,
In this case if you move a pawn forward two squares from its original square then your opponent can capture it or he doesn't. This is up to him. He might find a better move and leaves the pawn where it is. If a capture is favorable for him he will capture it and you might recapture it.

Example

See image (left). This is the original position. Black moves
See image (right): You (Black) have moved the e-pawn two squares forward. (e7-e5)
en passanten passant

See image (left) below: White has captured your e-pawn (dxe)
See image (right): You have recaptured the pawn with your f-pawn (fxe), but you can also recapture with the d-pawn if you like (dxe)
en passanten passant

White can also move the d-pawn to d6 instead of capturing. Or he can make a different move. See below. White moved the e-pawn to e4 and did not capture the black e-pawn.
en passant
I hope this helps.
Read more about the En Passant Rule here



Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate    Write for Us!
Search my Site  Subscribe   Google
© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com

The coupon called ‘aday’ gives you a 40% discount on all GM Igor Smirnov's Chess Courses!

Get the Main Package

With the package you can buy the most important chess courses in a bundle simultaneously with a very big discount. Save 391 USD!

Get the MAIN Package!

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!


Beginner Package
(3 in 1)
Quick Jump Package gives you a solid foundation.
You save $50.-
(Discount!)

Get Beginners Package

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!

Become a member at Chess.com!


7 Keys to Victory

Most successful opening for Black



-Top Chess Shop!-