Father's Day Special Offers! Stop losing at Chess! From June 16th to June 20th, we are offering up to 75% OFF on our entire shop, including our popular "Super Pack." This is a fantastic opportunity for you to enhance your chess skills while enjoying significant savings on our top-notch courses and packages. Click here!

Promoting a Pawn

by Victoria (Canada): If I had my Queen taken by the opponent and the opponent promotes his pawn – are they allowed to promote it to a Queen using my Queen as the one they promote to, even if they still have their Queen? Such that they would have two Queens in their control?

Hi! Victoria,

yes, he can have two queens or more.

When your opponent promotes his pawns on the eighth rank it doesn’t matter if your queen has been captured or not. This has nothing to do with pawn promotion.

The player can choose to promote his pawn to a queen, knight, bishop or rook of the same color by replacing the pawn on the same square in one move.

He is not limited to pieces that have already been taken off the board, but he can take chess pieces from other chess sets, if they are required or use other items.

For example, if a queen is not available he can put a rook upside down on to the square and claim it to be a queen. Or he can put a stone on the square and say: “This is a queen!”

He, theoretically, can promote all his eight pawns to queens, which means that there would be eight queens on the board.

But this never happens, you usually resign the game when the opponent promotes a pawn to a queen and if he would be a queen up, because in this case he would have an overwhelming material advantage and you would lose the game for sure anyway.

To save time in this case, good players resign immediately if there is no chance of saving the game and start a new game instead.
Read more about Pawn Promotion at Wikipedia

Read more about Pawn Promotion

I hope this helps.

Get UNIQUE Chess Video Courses from Chess Grandmaster Igor Smirnov (Ukraine)! BIG DISCOUNT! Click here!