A Pawn can capture anytime

by Bruce Johnson
Can the first move of a pawn be a diagonal capture or does it need move forward one or two spaces before capturing?

———–Admin—————————
Hi Bruce,
a pawn can capture anytime no matter if it sits still on its original square or not.

See position below where Black will promote a pawn into a queen. For that a black pawn must reach the last rank. To achieve this Black will sacrifice his g-pawn to free the way for his e-pawn.

Black moves
pawn capturehow a pawn captures
Black plays 1…g3 and attacks the white f-pawn on its original square. The white f-pawn has never moved before.

pawn capturehow a pawn captures
The f-pawn will capture 2.fxg (or the black pawn will move ahead and promote) and after that Black can move his e-pawn forward playing 2…e3. The white king cannot catch the black e-pawn anymore.


Back to – How to play Chess – Chess Questions

chess sets Get Chess Sets and Chess Computers!
chess course Get High Quality Chess Courses created by Grandmaster Smirnov!

"Give me 21 Days and I'll Show You How to Become a Dramatically Better Chess Player...Guaranteed! - Click Here!"