Can the King capture a Piece

by Satish
Hi friend,
my friend and me were playing chess. I (white) have given a check to my friend with the rook (white). The rook is protected by a pawn.

If I move the g-pawn then it is check from opponents rook to me.
My friend killed my rook and saying that you cannot kill my king because it is again check to you.
This scenario I show in attached picture.

Is it right?
1) Can black king kill the white rook in this situation?
2) Is this a draw or win? Who is the winner?

plz give me the answer?

Hi Satish,
the answer is simple.

A king can’t capture a piece that is protected.

In this position the black king can’t capture the rook because the white rook is protected by the g-pawn. That’s it!

White is the winner because Black is checkmate.

I hope this helps.

Back to – How to play Chess – Chess Questions

chess sets Get Top Chess Sets and Computers!
chess course Get High Quality Chess Courses created by Grandmaster Smirnov!

"Give me 21 Days and I'll Show You How to Become a Dramatically Better Chess Player...Guaranteed! - Click Here!"