Touch Move Rule - Moved - or not moved?

by Brian
(England)

I play (bad) chess with my grandsons.
They say that to touch a piece means that you MUST move that piece. Their chess club teacher tells them so.
I was taught that a piece isn't considered moved until you stop touching it. My chess club master told me so, many years ago.
Who is right?

------------------
Admin

Hi Brian,

You are both right! If you touch a piece you MUST move it. But the move is executed as soon as you stop touching the piece.

For example: If you move a knight to e4 then this move is executed when you stop touching the knight.

When you touch a piece you must move it somewhere.

When this is done and you still touch the piece you can move the piece somewhere else from where you have placed it before, because you have not stopped touching it. You didn't let go of the piece.
Read more about Touch Move Rule at Wikipedia

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to How to play Chess.


Privacy Policy   About Me/Disclosure  Contact Me
Disclaimer  Donate    Write for Us!
Search my Site  Subscribe   Google
© 2008- www.Expert-Chess-Strategies.com

If you like this Site - Buy Me a Coffee

Don’t miss this big opportunity! I’ve created the coupon called ‘aday’ which is 40% discount on all chess courses and packages of Grandmaster Smirnov!
These Video Courses of condensed Chess Knowledge will quickly turn a weak Player into an Expert!

Top Chess Store!

Get the Main Package

With this package you can buy the most important chess courses in a bundle simultaneously with a very big discount. Save 391 USD!

Get the MAIN Package!

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!
Beginner Package
(3 in 1)
Quick Jump Package gives you a solid foundation.
You save $50.-
(Discount!)

Get Beginners Package

Use coupon called ‘aday’ to get a 40% discount!

Most successful opening for Black